This morning was one of those mornings where I woke up tired. Dragging. And as I sit at my desk, I prayed and asked the Holy Spirit to give me some kind of jolt to help me make it through the start of this day. Taking a break from Romans this morning, I turned to Psalms on my digital bible that also doubles as a phone. (See what I did there?) I stopped at Psalm 48, and as I read the words,

Great is the Lord and greatly to be praised, in the city of our God, his holy mountain..”

I was reminded of a hymn that we used to sing at Mount Helm Baptist Church that was a song of this exact Psalm, almost word for word. As I kept reading, I came across a passage that stuck out to me. It was Psalm 48:9.

“Within your temple, O God, we meditate on your unfailing love. Like your name, O God, your praise reaches to the ends of the earth…”

and then verse 14,

“For this God is our God for ever and ever; he will be our guide even to the end.”

“Within your temple, we meditate on your unfailing love.” As I was reading this verse, I got the image of what it was like for the Israelites to have to sometimes travel to a temple, in order to fellowship with God. It makes me even more glad that now, the temple of God is within us. I can always fellowship with Him, no matter where I am. Nobody has to hear me. I don’t have to be in a church building, because I can have a church service in my own heart, 24/7- 365. I don’t need an organ for His praises to reach the ends of the earth in my life. I don’t need a worship team. I don’t need Chris Timlin, or Hillsong, or Elevate Worship blaring in the background for me to find that special place where I can commune with him. Even if I can’t sing a lick, I can still sing a new song about God’s faithfulness every day of my life!

In a way, that  verse could easily say, “Within THIS temple, O God, I meditate on your unfailing love”, because the meditation has to start within me in order for it to spread. I have to be the priest in my own life who burns the incense of worship and communion with God. On a Friday, when my body is worn down, I have to remember that I AM the temple.

Finally, the comfort of knowing that “THIS God is OUR God FOREVER”, is so filling and consuming. He is ours, and we are His. There is no greater love story to ever be told within this story of humankind. I praise God this morning, because He has not cast me away in my sin, but chosen to embrace me as His created child, with all of my quirks and mistakes. He still sees me as His temple, a vessel to establish His praise and name to the ends of the earth!

Let that wake you up this morning!

Be blessed today!

Leave a Reply

