“You have kept count of my tossings; put my tears in your bottle.” Psalms 56:8

“Those who sow in tears shall reap with shouts of joy.” Psalm 126:5

“He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.” Revelations 21:4

I’m a cryer. As a card -carrying member of the “Men who Openly Cry” Club, I freely admit that I shed tears when the need arises. I don’t try to stifle my emotions. I let them go. That is how I’m wired, which is not to say that my wiring is any better or worse than anyone else. It is just how God created me. When my emotions overflow, the evidence drips from my eyes. When I encounter the presence of God, I cry. When my kids do something that astounds me, sometimes a tear comes to my eye. When I’m sad, I cry.

God honors tears. As we see in the verses above, God remembers every tear. He knows the why behind them. He cares about them. He keeps them. The awesome thing about God, though, is that He never leaves us in tears if we allow Him to. Tears are fine for a season. Sadness is fine for a season. But God never intended for us to stay in that state. Instead of crying tears of sadness, God wants to shift us from sadness to thankful hearts, which bring tears of relief. Instead of tears of depression, or tears of loss, God wants to move us into a season where our tears express our gratitude to Him for moving us beyond ourselves into the light and love found in His presence.

We see in Revelations, in a couple of places, where God will wipe away the tears from our eyes. We won’t hurt anymore.

But what about now?

“You will keep him in perfect peace, Whose mind is stayed on You, Because he trusts in You.” Isaiah 26:3 

I believe that if we will allow it, our tears can provide a pathway into His peace. This verse from Isaiah shows us that if we trust Him, and keep our minds focused on him, (even through the tears), God will bring us peace. I strongly believe that peace is something that God has for us daily to walk in. Our emotions can sway us away from that place, but don’t think for one solid minute that peace is not available to all of us. God desires that we be lead in peace. And don’t misunderstand me. Peace is not an emotion. Peace is a truth

Peace is not an emotion. Peace is a truth. Peace is the understanding that even while my emotions are burdened, God is with me. He never left me. He loves me. Peace is something that goes beyond what we can tangibly understand in that moment, but it is nonetheless a powerful tool that God uses to bring us from seasons of tears into seasons of rejoicing.

“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:6-7

Our  minds will not be able to comprehend it, but our hearts will. Our emotions might fight against it, claiming residence as the only truth in that moment, but because PEACE is TRUTH, we must fight through the haze and embrace it.

Tears will come. Sadness will come. It will threaten to overwhelm us. Just know that God sees your tears. He keeps your tears. He honors your tears,

But He doesn’t want you to remain in your tears. Yes, praise Him through the tears. Worship Him when it doesn’t feel natural in that moment.

But don’t stay in your tears!

He wants you to stay in perfect peace.

Be blessed today.

 

Leave a Reply

