Yesterday, my family and I did something different, for us at least, on a Friday night. A good friend of mine, and a community uniter, Sonny Johnson, invited us to come up to his job and hang for a bit. Did I mention that his job is in a tower at the local airport?!!! To say that I was excited would be a vast understatement. As a child, I was very much into flying and space travel. So as we stood inside of that tower and listened to him explain what he did, I had butterflies in my stomach and a big, stupid grin on my face. I was beyond excited! We watched him turn on the runway lights and make his hourly weather recording to play for the pilots. After that awesomeness, we had a chance to hang out in an airplane hanger and check out some privately owned planes. Wow! My mind was blown. The kids got to sit inside of some pretty sweet rides and it was just an all around great time. 

What stuck out to me the most was a methaphor that Sonny made. He was telling us how the pilots have to trust what he tells them about ground conditions and runway direction, because they can only see what’s right in front of them. Their view is limited, while Sonny and the tower workers have a more wholistic view. They can see variables. They can see danger zones. They can see when a pilot should wait to land, or when the pilot has a clear pathway to the destination. 

Gosh! The impact of that. 

How many times have I been bitter because God told me no about something that I really wanted? How many times have I tried to tell God what I saw instead of trusting what He saw? How many times have I crashed down the runway, when God had given me a way toward a safe landing? Even now, there are things in my life where I steadfastly have believed that my way was the right way, but my vision is limited! 

God is in the tower. He sees everything. I’m in the cockpit of a plane only seeing what is in front of me. God sees where I’m trying to go, and where He wants to take me. 

He sees where He wants to take US! 

Proverbs 14:12 says, “There is a way that seems right unto a man, but in the end it leads to death.”

I can think of so many times where I might have died figuratively and literally, had God not intervened and corrected my course before it was too late. 

Note to self: God sees the entirety of my life. God sees the whole, where I only see in part. God’s vision is not tunnel vision. It is eternal vision. 

Just like the pilots trust Sonny and his coworkers to bring them safely in, we have to trust God to bring us safely into His promised place for us. 

I believe it’s called faith. 

I hope this hits someone else today. God bless you all. 

One thought on “Lesson at the Airport

Leave a Reply

