This is probably a continuation of my last post, Lessons from the Airport. I say that bacause some of what I felt in my heart in the stillness of the Airport Tower has been addressed over the last few days. Enjoy! 

There are times when you hear messages and think, “That’s just for me.” Then there are other times when you hear a message, and you don’t have to think it, because your jaw hits the floor, your eyes bug out, and you have to steady yourself, because you don’t trust your legs. Today’s entry is a tale of 2 sermons, which when combined tell me that God hears us, and loves us enough to speak to the very core issues in our lives.
On Saturday night, in my prayer time, I was asking God to help me find contentment. I had been feeling restless. Not with my marriage or family life, but in so many other arenas, I was feeling anxious and just downright unseemly. And so I prayed because if I did not find some measure of contentment, I was going to be in trouble moving forward. On Sunday morning, my wife pulled me from our Children’s classroom and said that we should trust our volunteers and go and listen to the message. We hadn’t sat through a message in a month or longer because we have been trying to get things off of the ground. Imagine my shock as we are sitting on the front row, and the Pastor begins to talk about finding contentment. My eyes teared up. I had to hide my face for a moment because it felt like God was staring me right in the face and saying, “Listen up, son.” And I did listen. And it was good. And amen!

The second instance happened this morning. For awhile now I have been pondering something, even trying to write about it in book form. it has always grated on me when people tell me that I have vast, untapped potential. It’s been said to me when I’ve been fired from jobs or laid off from jobs. It has been said to me after messages. It has been said to me countless times in my life. It has become a saying that I despise because instead of it being a challenge, it gives off a feeling of inadequacy. A feeling of not measuring up. It probably shouldn’t feel that way, but for me and so many others like me, it does. I’ve never said that aloud until right now.

This morning, my wife and I got up for what should be the first of many early morning workouts. As we strapped in and got on the treadmills to warm up, I cut on a message by Steven Furtick on “The Power of Potential”. I listened as I walked. I listened as I jogged a whole 60 seconds! I listened as I experimented with the weights because I don’t know how to use them. This message was so profound to me. It was so profound that I listened to it again when I got to work, and I proceeded to take almost 6 pages of notes in my journal. It was rich in just what I needed for my soul and heart. I want to share some of what he said here, and also link the message so that everyone who reads here can take a moment and listen.

“I don’t know my full potential because I live in my past and my pain.”

How true is this? I often get so caught up in my failures that it prevents me from seeing what it good inside of me, the things that God put there.

“Saying someone has potential can feel like judgment and an indictment because we feel like we aren’t enough”

He hit the nail on the head with this one. I battle feelings of inadequacy almost every day of my life. Those of you out there who are like me, know what it feels like to be stuck inside of your own head, constantly on trial. Constantly trying to measure up. The truth is, however, many times while we feel like we are doing the best that we can, we also know that there is more that we can do. So we struggle with it.

“I’m not going to miss my potential because I was trying to live up to someone else’s purpose. I was born to do what I was born to do. …..Potential is custom-fitted for purpose.”

What this means to me is this: I can only be who God created me to be. I can only drive in the lane that He appointed for me. This ties into contentment, because I have to rest in knowing that who God made me is enough to do what God has purposed for me to do. I can’t be my Pastor, no matter how dynamic his messages are. I can’t be my brother TJ Williams, as dynamic as he is because that’s not the purpose for my potential. To take it even farther, I can’t be the person I dreamed that I would always be because that person is an amalgamation of every influence I’ve ever had in life.

My quest is to be the best me that God dreamed and created me to be. Therein lies the purpose that will fulfill my potential and satisfy my thirst.

I got so much more from this message. I’ll probably listen to it a few more times, honestly. I need every nugget that I’ve gotten from the last two messages that I have heard this week. Content. Potential.

I hope that you will take a moment to listen to these messages. And let me close by saying this…

God care enough to make sure that we are in the right place to hear His soothing words to our troubled hearts. He is truly a good Father.

 

The Power of Contentent

 

Be blessed, folks!

 

Leave a Reply

