Ephesians 2:10- “For you are God’s workmanship, created in Christ to do good works…”

This morning I was reading a new bible plan that I subscribed to by Andy Stanley called “Visioneering”. It is just one of the things that I am using right now to be purposeful about my growth. I never made a resolution or any firm plan, but in my heart, I know that I want to be better. So between reading two books right now, this new bible plan, and reading my Bible, I’m really getting pumped full of God in this moment. It’s really cool. But back to this verse.

Pastor Stanley was talking about how we are created for a specific purpose, one that has an impact from eternity past through eternity future. I’ve read the verse above, but this morning as I read it, I kind of paused.

I got this image of a woodcarver sitting at his desk. His shoulders were tight, his gaze was fixed. He was staring at several blocks of wood spread out around him. He would pick up each block and ask it out loud, “What are you going to be?” He runs his fingers over every inch of the block, closes his eyes, and then picks up his carving knife and sets about the work. He’s not carving with the intent of an idea coming to him as he works. He has a firm view of the purpose for which he is carving this wood. He can even imagine the person he would most love to come into contact with this prized piece of art. He knows what impact this wood will have once he is finished with it. And so he carves. he places all of his love and hope into his creation, because woodcarving is not simply a hobby for him. It is his life. It is his expression of love for the world that he introduces this carving into. It is priceless to him.

I have this vision in my head now, as it regards God and purpose. I liken the blocks of wood to each of us. In the end, no matter our skin color, no matter our nationality. no matter the genetic makeups, we are all the same in God’s eyes. We look like Him. But for each of us, God has something specific in mind. That’s purpose. And as God intentionally created us for a specific purpose to serve in the earth, he sees the people that we could impact, the love we could spread, and the impact that we might have because of Him working in our lives. He carves us. And even if, to the naked eye, the finished product in any two people looks the same, upon further inspection, we can see the different notches places in different places that make us all unique. Special. Purposed for things that are supposed to alter this world and the people in it. This is the love that God has for mankind. I thank God for such a powerful image in my mind and spirit this morning. I pray that the truth of it speaks to you as well. No matter who you are, or what you look like, you have been endowed with a purpose that runs as deeply within you as anything else.

It’s there. I promise you. For you are God’s workmanship.

And He is proud of what He’s made you.

It’s time you were too.

Be blessed today!

 

Leave a Reply

