Communication is such an interesting thing. We prefer words, but sometimes gestures and sounds can be just as communicative as the words that we hold so dearly. First, thank all of you for your prayers for Zyla. The tonsillectomy went well. The aftermath has been a challenge, though. In spite of a few ups, she has been pretty pitiful, preferring to be held and cuddled to getting down and dancing as is her usual. It all makes sense. She’s in pain. The discomfort makes it hard for her to communicate. So when she is hurting, we have to be able to translate her crying and motioning.

In her mind, she is telling us what she needs, but to our ears, it is gibberish.

Until we are able to translate her communication.

I was thinking about this last night, and a bible verse came to me.

“In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans.” (Romans 8:26)

It is funny how being a father makes so many things about God plain to me. When Zyla cries, I’m instinctively able to translate her groans, because I know her. Or even when she says one thing, but means another, I know what she means. And what she needs. Sometimes she needs what she doesn’t know how to ask for.

That’s me. That’s you. We pray and ask for things, but what we are asking for are often not what we really need. God knows this. He’s our Father.

So because we don’t know how to pray as we should, and ask for what we really need, the Holy Spirit steps in as a translator, taking what we say and putting it into a form that is better for us. When we cry out in pain, and with groans, the Holy Spirit knows what those mean, and can give those things to the Father in a way that makes better sense and lines up with His will for our lives.

There is incredible comfort in this for me.

Thank you, Father, 

For always knowing what I need, even when I don’t know. Thank you for always knowing my true prayer, even when I don’t know how to put it into words. Thank you for translating my groans and moans. You love us so much, God, and today I worship you for knowing me better than I know myself. I thank you for knowing me better than I know myself. I love you, Abba. 

Amen. 

Leave a Reply

